top of page

Assignment 26: Mentorship Reflection

This past year as a part of the Honors Mentorship program has challenged me to grow in many ways. One thing that was evident to me is that taking initiative produces the best results. It wasn't until I starting asking my mentor or patients questions that I really starting feeling productive at my internship. It was hard for me to start conversations with the patients, but when I did, I realized I was developing interpersonal skills that would be helpful no matter what career I choose in life. I was also able to experience what working in the medical field is really like regarding how to deal with treatments, patients and coworkers.

When I was going into the program I didn't quite know what to expect. I really was only interested in the sports medicine part of my rotation at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta outpatient rehabilitation. I learned about so many other careers such as Orthotics and Prosthetics and Audiology. This exposure has challenged me to look into other careers that interest me in the healthcare field. Honors Mentorship has also already exposed me to hands on clinical work that will be beneficial for me when I go into my degree classes or graduate program because I already have a little background knowledge.

To anyone considering Honors Mentorship, most importantly, take initiative. You won't get anything out of the program if you don't try. Be flexible and outgoing because you will be challenged by your mentors. For your capstone, pick a topic that truly interests you and the work will be easy! Always show up to your internship with a smile on your face and a positive attitude. Last but not least, enjoy Honors Mentorship! You were selected to have an experience that no other student outside of this program has, so take advantage of it!


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page