top of page

Assignment 15: Interview

Interviewee: Chris Wilhelm

1. Where did you attend college?

"I started at Lord's University, a small catholic college in Ohio. I transferred to Bowling Green State University and finished up at Northwestern University."

Reflection: It doesn't matter where you start college and finish college. As long as you work hard, you can always be successful.

2. Did you have any internship opportunities throughout college?

"Yes I did. I interned during my time at Bowling Green State University in a Rehabilitation setting."

Reflection: Chris was familiar with how internships worked, so he was a very helpful and encouraging teacher to me throughout my internship with him.

3. What challenges, if any, did you have throughout your education?

"It was hard for me to balance school and work since I went to school during the day and was working at night."

Reflection: I also find it hard to difficult to balance sports, school and internship. However, it is possible, if I manage my time be responsible.

4. Why did you decide to become an orthotist?

"I wanted to make a difference and help others. There are also not many orthotists in the United States, so I wanted to help people in that field who needed it."

Reflection: I think it's sad that there is a lacking number of orthotists in the United States. I have been able to see the work they do and it is so important to people who do not have limbs that properly function. Orthotists do life changing work for people.

5. Besides orthotics, did you consider any other careers?

"Yes, I wanted to be either Physical Therapist, Athletic Trainer or work in osteopathic medicine."

Reflection: I also want to be in the exercise science field which includes Athletic Training and Physical Therapy.

6. How long have you been an orthotist?

"37 years."

Reflection: Chris has been working hard for 37 years and his passion for his career is visible. I hope that when I am retiring one day, I am as passionate about my career as he is.

7. How long have you worked at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta?

"11 years."

Reflection: Children's is such an amazing healthcare organization and anyone would be lucky to have a job there.

8. What is your favorite part of your career?

"Providing patients with a better quality of life."

Reflection: Healthcare is a career field centered around improving the lives of others. I love helping others and I cannot wait to get paid to do it.

9. What is your least favorite part of your career?

"Losing a patient whether it's because of death or them being over 21 and not being able to treat them anymore at CHOA."

Reflection: While he couldn't think of many things he didn't like about his job, this part of it has to be heartbreaking.

10. Do you have any advice for students going into the medical field?

"The medical field holds a lot of opportunities, so find something that interest you and try to make a difference in people's lives. The medical field is going to give you opportunities to impact people. It gives you a sense of self worth and responsibility to your patient."

Reflection: Chris has inspired me to find my passion and use it to make an impact on others. I want my patients and whoever else I will be around in the medical field to see my passion and be inspired from it like I was inspired by Chris's.


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page