top of page

Assignment 11: Mentorship Write Up/Picture

I was given a great opportunity to mentor at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta my senior year. I have always been interested in health care, and this mentorship is enabling me to explore the medical field and see what it would really be like. I have played travel soccer for the last 10 years and have had my fare share of injuries throughout the years. I have spent a lot of time in physical therapy and doctors offices for various breaks and sprains. I chose to intern in the medical field because of the interest that has grown from me being around healthcare so much.

I mentor at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta (CHOA) at The Collections in Forsyth. I have two mentors as of now and will switch throughout the year. My mentors are Tonya Nussbaum and Lindsay Lee. Tonya is an audiologist and Lindsay is a speech pathologist. I am mostly able to sit in on their appointments and observe them. Whenever they do not have appointments for the day, I can observe physical therapy or occupational therapy appointments.

Next year I plan on going to college and starting my education to become either a sports medicine physical therapist or an orthopedic physicians assistant. This internship has already given me a lot of knowledge on how the medical field works and how to work with patients and their families. This internship has also grown my confidence in talking to my mentors which will be useful in the future when I am interviewing or speaking to professors.


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page