top of page

Assignment 10: Internship Update

Since I started at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta in September, I've been able to see a lot of the behind the scenes work that goes into running a healthcare center. From what I just saw as a place for people go to get healthcare, my eyes are opened to the adversity and hard work that the professionals got through. The company works with all kinds of people from all different backgrounds but for one goal. Their main focus is making sure every patient gets the proper treatment they need in order to make their life better. It surprised me when the mentors would study each case before the appointment with their patient. They work really hard to prepare themselves for the appointments to help their patients.

At CHOA I do a lot of observing in the observation rooms. I'm not really active in the appointments, I just see how my mentors work with their patients. Although it can get boring watching the appointments, I am able to see patterns in the appointments and how my mentors work through certain issues with their patients. Not all patients improve after one session which is expected, but when I get to see the patients after a few weeks, It's really interesting to see how their treatments are improving their issues whether its working on fixing a lisp or getting a toddler to walk.


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page