top of page

Assignment 7: Growing Leaders

In an article from Tim Elmore featured on his blog Growing Leaders, he explains from an employers point of view the characteristics that are desired from interns. The top qualities that employers look for in interns are teachability, initiative, responsibility and energy. These qualities will create a positive experience for both the intern and mentor. In my internship at CHOA, I want to come everyday with a visible eagerness to work and learn from my mentor. Energy and interest is important to employers, so I am going to challenge myself to show those qualities everyday I intern, even on the rough days where energy could be lacking. This means I need to ask questions, be helpful to both my mentor and the patients, and show that I am thankful for the opportunity I have. For me personally, it can be easy to slip into a routine and forget that I am interning to learn and grow. The most relevant point is that my entire mentorship is really an interview. Now, granted, Im not going into the medical field until after college. However, it's a good reminder that I need to be mindful of how people are always watching how I interact during my internship.

http://growingleaders.com/


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page