top of page

Assignment 6: Work Ethic

Work ethic is defined as how hard someone works because they believe they will be intrinsically virtuous or worthy of reward. Work ethic is relevant in school, sports and work. A good work ethic describes someone who works hard and does well in their job, sport or class. A good work ethic is desirable among employers because they want workers who are determined and productive. Employers do not want workers who will be lazy and detrimental to the workplace. They want employers who are strong in all three areas of work ethic which include interpersonal skills, initiative and dependability.

Interpersonal skills are what we use everyday when we interact with people. Employers want workers with strong interpersonal skills because they want their employees to be able to work well together and communicate effectively with clients, coworkers and employers. Initiative is a vital skill for the workplace since most workplaces are not supervised all the time. Without initiative, procrastination will take over and be damaging to the whole group and company. Lacking initiative can lead to the loss of a job as well. Lastly, being dependable is a very valuable trait in the workplace. Dependability includes honesty, reliability and punctuality. Employers want employees that they can rely on to get the job done well. These three skills create a strong work ethic that will win over employers and create opportunities in the workplace.

After using the Occupational Work Ethic Inventory (OWEI) instrument, I learned that I am weakest in the interpersonal skills category. I expected this because I am often quite and reserved. I know I am dependable and take initiative, but while I am working at CHOA this year, I need to remember to work on my interpersonal skills and get outside my comfort zone by creating conversation with my mentor and other workers.


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page