top of page

Assignment 1: Preparing for Mentorship

As I listened to the First Impressions podcast and read the Knowing Your Mentor handout, I learned a few important things about how to act professionally during the mentorship program. It is important to show up to the mentorship everyday with a positive attitude. Employers don't want a rude or grumpy worker. Smiling and greeting everyone will make the coworkers and mentors respect me even more. Being on time shows punctuality and discipline which are important traits in the work place. Respect is earned not given, and my actions must always reflect that I am aware of that.

This mentorship is going to be a time full of growth and learning for me. I hope to develop even further a strong and consistent work ethic. I am looking forward to getting experience working in an area that I am interested, so hopefully, in the future, I will be more prepared for certain situations. Most of all, I hope to gain knowledge that I can't obtain from a classroom. I am looking forward to hands on learning and seeing the "real world" work place first hand.

To ensure that I get the most out of my mentorship, I will try to create a positive first impression with my mentor. I believe that a good first impression can create respect between the mentor and I and more opportunities for me down the road. I plan to be on time every day that I am scheduled and to work hard and diligently while I'm there. I will show up everyday with a positive attitude and ready to get to work.

Personally, I want to be either a Physicians Assistant or Physical Therapist in the future. By mentoring at CHOA, I will get a feel for what the medical field is really like. I know I am interested in medicine, but through the mentorship, I will be able to work with patients and prepare myself for the work I hope to be doing in the future. This program will also teach me important skills that I can use in my future career such as flexibility, diligence and hard work.


RECENT POSTS

FEATURED POSTS

Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.

FOLLOW US

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page